Mindful Monday GOKI Readers, my question to you is: How are your brackets doing in relation to the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament? The only pick I have right for the final four is UCONN! And yes, I did put them down to win it all! Well, I guess we'll all have to wait and see next week, who actually gets to lift up the trophy. 

Ok folks, do not think I forgot what the actual title of my post is, I realize I went off topic, but I felt I had to make at least one comment about the tournament.
Now let me continue with my tip of the day.

March 28, 2011 Health Tip Of The Day

Check For Lead Exposure

Lead poses one of the greatest health threats when it comes to our water. In high doses, this metal, which once was commonly used in household plumbing, can cause severe brain damage and even death; in low doses, it can cause nerve system damage in still developing fetuses, infants, and children. Those most at risk are individuals living in homes constructed between 1910 and 1940, when lead service pipes were commonly used. Also risky are homes with plumbing consisting of copper pipes connected by lead-based solder (which was banned by federal law in 1986) and older chrome-plated bathroom fixtures, which are made of brass consisting of 3 to 8 percent lead. If you suspect your home may be subject to lead contamination, have it tested.

As Always, To Your Health.

P.S. Here's an informative video about lead poisoning prevention. 



Leave a Reply.